En route to finding glory.

This post is for all of you beasts who might want to know my story of how I got into the fitness high.

It all started back when I was 4 and my dad was heavily into Martial Arts. He had been a National silver medalist, he has a black belt in Judo, Karate and Tae Kwon Do and had learnt Kung Fu for a while. So right about when I’d started my Kindergarten, he’d enrolled me for Taekwondo classes under his masters so I could be exposed early to an art form.

Fast forward 6½ years from then and I’d gotten my black belt. I’d made my dad proud and I’d gotten a sense of accomplishment as a young man. However right after that, my dad wanted me to try out some other sport just so I could explore more options. By now I was in grade 6 and I had no intentions of really doing sports but instead, wanted to stay at home, playing video games and eating.

Dad decided to make me homeschool and then I joined a Tennis Academy. I played tennis day in and day out and after a while it got sickening. (I had a very short attention span and wasn’t very good at studies either) So, I had to decide, I either keep sports as a priority and get through education or prioritize education and find a desk job working 8 hours a day. (PS: Right about this time, my dad had qualified for the world’s toughest endurance race and I wanted to do something similar.) At this moment I had made up my mind; I wanted to stand out. Not be like my former school mates, going out shopping, watching movies all day or gossiping. I wanted to prove to myself that I was the best and make my family even more proud than they already were.

I completely broke off all my social contacts. No social media and no friends. Just HARDCORE beast mode.

I begun training for triathlons (You swim, bike and run) I trained pretty hard for a couple of years and even won a few events, but my attention had shifted toward extreme sports, Parkour & Downhill Biking. There’s a certain thrill, that you cannot describe. People ask me, “Why go so extreme?” I say, “Try it, you wont think of going back.”

As of now, I’ve been working on developing muscle mass. I’m back in school, trying to finish off high school and then pursue a career as a Downhiller.

So I give all the credit to my dad, without whom, I wouldn’t have been able to be what I am today.

2 thoughts on “En route to finding glory.

Leave a Reply

